We are currently accepting nominations and
applications for positions on the Brain Injury
Advisory Committee for next term.

Call for Committee Nominations

You have the opportunity to nominate yourself or other members to serve on the Brain Injury Advisory Committee. We invite you to submit yourself or to recommend someone who you think would be a great leader or contributor to this group.

What positions are available for the 2020 – 2022 term?

  • Chair-Elect*

  • Survivor of Brain Injury

  • Relative of a Survivor of Brain Injury

  • Rehabilitation Professional

  • Individual who Represents the Brain Injury Association of Ohio

  • Health Care Professional

  • Individual who Represents the Public (3 positions available)

Each position is appointed for a two (2) year term. *Chair-elect is a one (1) year term.

How do you qualify to serve on the Committee? It’s simple!

  • Have time to attend the quarterly Brain Injury Advisory Committee Meetings

  • Have a willingness to participate in an orientation process with regard to individuals with brain injury and the Brain Injury Advisory Committee

  • Have time to work on at least one workgroup

What are the expectations if elected to the Committee?

  • Serve for a two (2) year term January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2021. Chair-elect will serve January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020 and will automatically become Chair January 1, 2021.

  • Attend/participate in quarterly Committee meetings in person (or via phone if on-site elsewhere).  Only two unexcused absences.

Nominate yourself or another member you know that would be a perfect fit for one of our many positions. The final day to submit a nomination is Friday, April 26, 2019. For any questions, ask a current Brain Injury Advisory Committee member or Membership Committee member!

Submit Your Nomination!

What’s Next?

Once we receive your nomination form, the Membership Committee will review your information and reach out if we have additional questions. The Membership election will occur at the October 17, 2019 in-person Brain Injury Advisory Committee meeting. All applicants will be contacted following the outcome of this meeting.

Thank you!

Membership Committee Members

Dan Arnold

Monica Lichi

Stephanie Ramsey   

Danielle Smith

Kathy Stachowski 



Special Thanks to Our Sponsors


  • Ohio State University Discovery Themes

  • Ohio State Wexner Medical Center Dodd Rehabilitation Hospital


  • Crowley Family Memorial Fund

  • Neuroscience Research Institute Ohio State University

  • OhioHealth Rehabilitation Hospital

  • Proctor and Gamble Corporation


  • Dell’s Homemade Ice Cream & Coffee

  • NeuroRestorative


  • Hanson House Presented by The Law Firm of Tittle & Perlmuter

  • Mary Free Bed Rehabilitation Hospital

  • Rainbow Rehabilitation Centers, Inc.


The Brain Injury Association of Ohio thanks the family of Brian Crowley for donations given in his memory. These donations supported scholarships to the 2019 TBI Summit, allowing brain injury survivors who would not otherwise been able to attend due to the financial constraints of the BIAOH. We also remember his mother, Joanne Crowley, President of BIAOH in the 1990s. Her dedication to her family and providing education and advocacy for those with brain injury made BIAOH who we are today. We are deeply grateful for their support of BIAOH in our mission to create a better future through brain injury prevention, research, education and advocacy.


5.0 Hours of continuing education credits have been confirmed by the Ohio Counselor, Social Worker and Marriage and Family Therapist Board. These credits are available to Licensed Independent Social Workers, Registered Social Worker Assistants, Licensed Social Workers, Licensed Independent Marriage and Family Therapists, Marriage and Family Therapists, Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors and Licensed Professional Counselors.

8.0 Hours of continuing education credits have been confirmed for Athletic Trainers, Physical Therapists, Occupational Therapists and Certified Brain Injury Specialists. These hours include attendance at the Poster Presentations and Lightning Talks. If you are unable to attend this session, CEU hours will be prorated as appropriate.

6.75 Hours of continuing education credits have been confirmed for Speech Language Audiologists and Pathologists.

6.25 Hours of continuing education have been approved for Nurses.

Our New Board of Trustees Is Here!

We were pleased to announce our new Board of Trustees at our Annual Meeting of the Membership that took place on November 8, 2018.  Please join us in welcoming:

Stephanie Ramsey, President

Emily Smith, 1st VP

Kim Bergstrom, 2nd VP

Jacqueline Stanton, Secretary

Laura Holtsberry, Kedar Hiremath, Christine Koterba, Jonathan Pedrick, Melissa Volk and Greg Wagner, Members-at-Large

More information about our Board of Trustees is coming soon! 

The power point presentation from the Annual Meeting is available on our news page. Click on "News" under "News & Events" above to find the post

Survivor card No Physician Signature PDF-1.jpg